d.a.m. 2013

Standard

When November 1st, 2012 hit – I feel like I was in such a different spot in regards to my attention to diabetes (both generally and specific to my diabetes). Actually, I was on the way home from a work conference, pimping my blue circle earrings, ready to celebrate (educate)!

This year, I’ve been so busy with work and life that I’ve barely even noticed that Diabetes Awareness Month is upon us. Yes, I knew it was November when I woke up this morning, but I had no plans to shout from the rooftop what this month means to me. That is, until I received two Facebook notifications that reminded me how much the people near and dear to me (who don’t live with diabetes themselves) care about finding a cure.

From a dear childhood friend’s profile:

Mari FB Post
My Mama’s new cover picture:

Mom Cover Picture

Just because I’m busier (or maybe just going through a small diabetes burnout) doesn’t mean I can’t find time to take advantage of Diabetes Awareness Month and educate folks, celebrate our successes, and just enjoy a month of blue with you fine people.

Also, for day one of Diabetes Month Photo A Day (day 1, past):
I call this “way past time to change my sensor.”
Dexcom Sensor
Sensor Expiring

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

