nicotine patches & grapes.

Standard

I’m going to do my best to be matter of fact. I don’t want to complain about people’s ignorance about diabetes (I mean I do want to complain, I just know complaining won’t accomplish anything. Correcting people and teaching them might, though. Might.). I’ve had some interesting things said to me (or to my family) recently.

  • At a wedding last weekend, my mom went to get me some grapes because I was hovering around 70 mg/dl. She was loading her plate full and said to the person behind her something like ‘Sorry I’m stealing all of the grapes — my daughter’s blood sugar is a little low.’ The response she got? OH. GRAPES WILL KILL A DIABETIC. Mom walked away, laughing uncontrollably at what had been said to her.
  • Apparently though, I should be soaking apples and cinnamon in water and drinking it. The guy who told me this also said he doesn’t understand why diabetics eat cake when we know we shouldn’t. I had eaten cake the night before (successfully, no big spike) and made sure he was aware of that. I also made sure he was aware that apple cinnamon water sounds disgusting and said concoction wouldn’t convince my pancreas to start making insulin.
  • At the bar last night, multiple intoxicated people were surprised I was able to drink beer and not pass out. They were also shocked that I was not severely overweigh. They kept telling me to ‘keep it up’ but they felt like I could achieve a lower a1c. Husband convinced me that they had no clue what they were talking about, but I still day dreamed about pouring their beer on their head, flipping them off, and walking away.
  • At the same bar, my husband and I started playing corn hole with a (drunk) stranger. Please note that my dexcom is currently on my arm and it was visible. During the game (Drunk) Stranger says “SOOOO. Is one of us here trying to quit smoking?” I knew immediately he wanted to know what the fuck was sticking on my arm, but his way of asking seemed so rude. If you’re interested in the device on my arm, don’t sidestep around the question — I’d prefer you just ask. So I told him no, neither of us smoke, and asked him if he was trying to quit. He said no. I asked him why he had that question, and he said no reason. I called him out, asked him if he was referring to the thing on my arm, and was able to explain to him what it really was.

Moral of the story? Keep educating. And don’t pour beer on people’s heads. And don’t eat grapes? (Kidding. Eat grapes. Delicious, and not poisonous to diabetics. ARE poisonous to dogs, though.)

6 responses »

  1. Diabetes is unending of questions and answers,
    I am so glad (& informed) to be part of your interesting blog, keeps me on my feet to understand and help my husband ( your uncle) Buck & also appreciate what you and Lindley go thru daily
    I love you & hold your courage in high esteem!!
    Love
    Sus

  2. I’m totally imagining grapes with teeth and knives and bombs and guns now.

    I had a night like this on Friday. One girl at dinner told me about how diabetes had killed several of her relatives, but they had all “brought it upon themselves.” Then she asked me if I got it from eating too much sugar.

    Then my friend’s mom tried to keep me from eating dessert. For my own safety, of course.

    • Ohhh boy, that sounds like a stressful dinner. I hope you ate the biggest dessert you could order.

      And thank you, now I’m going to be scared of ninja grapes. With teeth.

      🙂

Leave a Reply

