frittata.

Standard

Frittata. Such a funny word. I’ve been seeing recipes for frittatas all over the place, so I finally decided to try it (read: was forced to try it because I had nothing else that resembled dinner in the fridge last week). Turned out it was dee-lish-ous, and probably will be a regular fridge cleaner-upper.

What I used (you can use ANYTHING that you have around, though!):
10 eggs
1 potato
goat cheese (whole bunch)
1 red pepper
some spicy spices. probably crushed red pepper.
some onion
BACON (because everything needs bacon)

Dice up the potato, put in skillet with a little olive oil (make sure you coat your pan pretty well — you’ll cook your eggs in this pan later). Cook up the bacon. Chop the red pepper and onion and throw that in with the potato. Tear up the bacon into small pieces and put it in the skillet with everything else.

Crack all of the eggs in a bowl and whisk. Then, pour them in the skillet over the potato/pepper/bacon/onion mixture. I think I had my heat turned down too low at this point, so you’ll just have to experiment. Don’t scramble — just let the eggs cook. This is when I added some goat cheese and spices on top. Once the eggs are pretty firm but not too firm (very scientific) – stick it in the oven on broil for 3 or so minutes. It browns the top just a bit, and voila! Before serving, at some more goat cheese. Just cause.

I didn’t take pictures during the cooking process because I didn’t expect for it to be so yummy. It was a pretty low carb meal, though – I only had to bolus for a portion of a potato. End result:

image

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

One response »

Leave a Reply

