puddle of insulin.

Standard

[ Quick Note: I’m currently switching between a few different pumps due to (1) insurance woes.. that are now settled.. and (2), having a surplus of  oooold Medtronic supplies that I’m trying to use up before I have to send back my loaner pump in August. So right now, I’m using the Medtronic loaner pump, a new Animas, and a new Omnipod that I purchased out of pocket. I feel like  a pump pimp. This should probably be a blog post in and of itself. /’quick’ note.]

For 14.5 years, I have been sporting a tubed pump. I’ve worn it with dresses, skirts, bathing suits, and with my wedding dress. I’ve figured out how to most comfortably (to me) wear a tubed pump with these sorts of outfits, and I’ve figured out how to give myself insulin with a pump clipped to my undies (basically, you have to not care about how weird you look as a pump drops to your feet after you MacGyver it off of the waistband of your underwear).

But then, I was introduced to a tubeless pump! My first trial with the Omipod, I wasn’t so impressed. But I was recently given the opportunity to purchase one for $199 via Insulet’s Cut the Cord program (if you’re interested – contact Insulet to see if you are eligible and if this program is still going on). I absolutely LOVE the freedom and the smaller pods. On the flip side, though – I love my tubed pump for it’s familiarity and convenience (always attached to your body while Omnipod PDM is not). So currently, I try to think ahead while I’m changing my pump set, and insert either the Omnipod or a tubed pump – based on what the next few days’ activities consist of. Most of the time, planning ahead works, and I’m happy with my pump choice. This past Friday, though I didn’t plan ahead, and I COULDN’T STAND wearing my Animas with a dress, knowing that the Omnipod was just sitting there, waiting for me in the drawer.

So instead of torturing myself, I decided to use my Omnipod for the weekend. I could just take the insulin out of the Animas cartridge and use it in my new pod (not medical advice). Every drop counts. I’d gotten really good at doing this very same thing with Medtronic reservoirs. Turns out, I’ve got some learning to do with Animas.

image
Because that there folks is 66 units of perfectly good insulin puddled on my kitchen table. Did I think about sucking it up with a reservoir? Sure did. Instead, I wiped it up, proceeded with the pump change, and smelt like band-aids for my night out with friends.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

34 responses »

  1. OOOO!OOO!OOO!! I have an answer for you!!!!! (Only because I’ve done this myself! and my excitement is way overboard, but you know!).. anyway, (assuming you have more than 85 units in the cartridge) just take the cartridge out, twist on the needle for the Omnipod filler, place the needle into the back of the pod like normal, and just push the bit of plunger in until it’s flush with the cartridge body. Easy peasy! 😉 And hey, you’ve truly got to be my Diabetes Sister with the pump-switches! LOL!

    • Only time I can remember that happening (maybe I blocked out other times from my memory) it was a roommate who busted the vial. Whoops. I tried to not make him feel TOO terrible, but not crying at that point is hard. 😀

  2. Oh no, 66 units!!! That sticks (like bandaids!!).

    Wouldn’t it be cool if all pumps had a way to wear them either tubed or without tubes and we could switch back and forth? That would be awesome!

    • Haha, I actually ended up not – was hard to convince myself not to though. I wasn’t sure how dust and dog hair might negotiate the integrity of the insulin 🙂 You’re right though, shit. ain’t. cheap.

  3. Insulin *IS* liquid gold…second only to breast milk when you are having production issues and spill whatever you just pumped out (see, they even both involve pumping!!) I know, too much information, but one day, you may nod your head and remember me saying this 🙂

  4. I once overfilled one of those cartridges, and was trying to fix it when the plunger part popped out and 200 units of insulin spilled into the carpet. Darth Vader’s “NOOOOOOO” was an understatement.

  5. Yea, my first thought was how to save that insulin.*sigh* Yesterday I drop a vial of insulin right onto to the tile floor & watched in slow motion as it broke.:( So glad I started mail delivery of insulin so I had more on hand.

Leave a Reply

