eyes.

Standard

image

Happy Blue Friday, from my eyeball.

I’m happy to say that I scheduled and attended my annual eye doctor appointment this week! I’m not happy to say that the sucker pictured above was my reason for initially scheduling the appointment.  Any of you reading this that have diabetes know: your eye bothers ya, ya freak out (also, a shout out to Chris, @notODG, on twitter for keeping me sane a couple of times).

My right eye has been giving me problems for about a month now. There is just a slight blur/fuzzy spot/goopy spot on the bottom right hand side of my right eye. It almost feels like I have an eye booger that I can’t get out. And it’s mostly there when I’m sitting in front of the computer. Just bothersome enough, but not horrible. Sort of like my wild hound dogs 😉

I went to the doctor and was able to explain what was going on without breaking down. I answered their typical questions and read all of the little letters correctly and realized that based on my answers to the questions, I’m turning into my mother (Q: Do you drink? A: Yes, on the weekends. Q: Are you a fall risk? A: Only if I’m drinking. Thanks Mom, I love you!)

The doctor’s assistant proceeded to dilate my eyeballs. I proceeded to look like I was on drugs. He told me that he could write a very, very weak prescription for glasses – but it was so weak that it probably wouldn’t be necessary and the doctor agreed that it was pointless. (Side story: This isn’t surprising – I has a strong glasses prescription when I was diagnosed and wore them until my vision corrected itself, after I started taking insulin. I also was given a very weak prescription in college, but I don’t wear them.) I was finally taken in to see the actual ophthalmologist. She did her ophthalmologist-y things, and then told me that everything still looked perfect. YAY!

But wait. There is still a fuzzball in my eyes. Her diagnosis? Dry eyes. I need to become addicted to eye drops.  My husband’s professional opinion is that I should drink more water (I should). So I’ve been doing both. And for a couple of days, it didn’t seem to be working all that well. So yesterday I put on those glasses from college with the really weak prescription – and the fuzzball wasn’t bothering me (but they make my computer look like a trapezoid instead of a rectangle). Is my vision better because of the glasses or because I’m more hydrated? I’m not sure, but I think I’ll have the doctor send over the new glasses prescription, just to see (ba-dum-ch).

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

