thigh set.

Standard

For the first time in 15 years, I’ve placed my pump set in my thigh. I know I’m not good at math – but that could very well equal over 1,800 pump sites placed elsewhere on my body – including: stomach (used to use a LOT, but it’s super scarred now), back of my arms, lower back, upper butt (#makessenseifyouhavediabetes). Now that I write that out – there really aren’t that many options. I guess it was inevitable that I try my thigh out at some point.

So, how is it working out, you ask? As I mentioned on Twitter, I feel like I’m alternating between the urge to limp and the urge to tighten my thigh muscle. In time, I’ll get used to it! I’ll try to keep you posted on Twitter or Facebook about it’s absorption.

So, what not-so-normal spot do you use for your pump or CGM when you feel like all of your real estate has been used up? Has anyone used their side boob? Seriously, I know someone has. And seriously, I can guarantee I never will.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

6 responses »

  1. I pray that the cure for diabetes is NOW…I pray for you & Lindley and admire your strength to deal with this pancreas or lack of & share with all, especially your loved ones! You are an incredible writer& a beautiful soul!! ❤ Susie

  2. This might be a dumb question, but how do you know your tummy is scarred badly? Were you noticing higher #s because of it? I’ve been using my tummy since 1997 and I keep hearing about people trying new places and I’m wondering if I need to make the jump also

    • No dumb questions here!! I don’t notice any absorption issues (OK – maybe I have to yank bleeders from my stomach more often) – but back when I was first diagnosed in ’97, stomach was the ONLY place I used – so I have a ton of little dots on my stomach. It’s just unsightly. I also like to move sites around so that I don’t get a lot of scar tissue or knots built up under my skin.

      • Hmm yeah I have a lot of little white dots on my belly too. I probably should start looking at other places to use it, but it’s scary to try somewhere new after 16 years using one spot! I have started to get close to my love handles though haha

      • I know, it’s totally scary!! You can do it, though 🙂 My ‘upper butt’ is my favorite place now – right below my pant line. Rarely hurts!

Leave a Reply

