Freaky Friday – #DBlog Week, Day 5

Standard

Diabetes Blog Week

Just like in the movie, today we’re doing a swap. If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes? And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances with other medical conditions? (Thanks to Jane of Jane K. Dickinson, RN, PhD, CDE and Bob of T Minus Two for this topic suggestion.)

I’ve been thinking about this one for a few days now, and I still don’t really have an answer. I guess what I would say is that I wouldn’t want to trade chronic diseases with anyone. Saying that almost feels like I’m saying what someone else deals with on a daily basis is easier or more difficult than what I do. And I just don’t think that’s the case – each chronic illness has it’s own intricacies, difficulties and heartaches. Not to mention, I wouldn’t wish diabetes on my worst enemy.  I don’t have many words for what I’m trying to explain. Diseases.just.suck.
One sidenote though – I do have a really good friend who has multiple sclerosis. Shorty, I’m not saying I want to trade chronic illnesses with you, because we rock out at the front row of Avett Brother shows and drink beer together with our own chronic diseases.. BUT, I’ll be on the radio for a day.  I’d also like to be able to rap for a day. OK? Thanks. Also I love you and you rock for just being you.

As far as the second part of this prompt is concerned? Yes. I do think that my participation in the DOC has affected how I treat others with medical conditions. Beyond that, having this disease has affected how I treat anyone. Diabetes is a pretty invisible disease, and most people don’t see when I’m struggling. It’s made me realize that everyone is always fighting their own battle – and I can totally relate.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

Leave a Reply

