Accomplishments, Big & Small – #DBlog Week, Day 4

Standard

Diabetes Blog Week
We don’t always realize it, but each one of us had come a long way since diabetes first came into our life. It doesn’t matter if it’s been 5 weeks, 5 years or 50 years, you’ve done something outstanding diabetes-wise. So today let’s share the greatest accomplishment you’ve made in terms of dealing with your (or your loved one’s) diabetes. No accomplishment is too big or too small – think about self-acceptance, something you’ve mastered (pump / exercise / diet / etc.), making a tough care decision (finding a new endo or support group / choosing to use or not use a technology / etc.). (Thanks to Hilary of Rainie and Me for this topic suggestion.)

I’ve had type 1 diabetes for almost 16 years now. Hanging out with friends last night, we were discussing the importance of self affirmation and seeking out the positives within yourself. So instead of picking just one accomplishment, I’ll name a few small ones.

  • Accepting my diabetes, and almost becoming proud of it on some days.
  • Not being afraid to tell people about my disease.
  • Starting the insulin pump, trying new pumps (scary), and starting on two different CGMs.
  • Sticking with a daily routine. There was a time in my life I rarely tested my sugar. Now it’s odd if I test like than 6-8 times, sometimes more.
  • Finally getting my A1C to hang out in the 6’s.
  • Living almost 16 years complication free.
  • Finding a new endo when I felt I was outgrowing my old one.
  • Standing up for myself to medical professionals, insurance companies, and strangers.
  • Starting my blog.
  • Seeking out the support of others with diabetes.
  • Simply put – just making my health a top priority in my life. It sounds so easy, but it just wasn’t the case for me for a while.
About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

8 responses »

  1. You are an old soul dealing with a disease that takes a lot of will power, strength of character and positivity to name a few…YOU are the greatest accomplishment of all! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

