Memories – #DBlog Week, Day 3

Standard


Today we’re going to share our most memorable diabetes day. You can take this anywhere…. your or your loved one’s diagnosis, a bad low, a bad high, a big success, any day that you’d like to share. (Thanks to Jasmine of Silver-Lined for this topic suggestion.)

“I’m never getting married.”
“Who would want to spend the rest of their lives dealing with low blood sugars?”
“No one will ever think I’m sexy with a pump attached to me.”
“They won’t stick around because they’ll think I’m sick and I’ll die soon.”

Every single one of these thoughts has crossed my mind at some point or another in my lifetime. I was, after all, dumped in 7th grade because of my diabetes. But then, years later, I met him.

Yes, I had dated prior to him.. but nothing that I thought would last. Obviously, those guys weren’t the right person for me – but a lot of my doubts came from the fear of someone not being able to love me and accept me and understand my disease. I honestly couldn’t fathom anyone choosing to have diabetes intrude on their lives each and every day if they didn’t have to. I wasn’t able to imagine myself burdening anyone with my diabetes. I didn’t want anyone to have to live with the consequences of my high blood sugars. I still don’t.

But after getting to know him, even just a little bit – I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to see what could bloom. The first few times we saw each other, I didn’t reveal that I had diabetes. At that point in my life, I wasn’t taking care of myself as well as I should have – so it was much easier to  hide than it would be now. I knew I needed to tell him though, and give him the opportunity to walk away.

We were at my house cooking dinner when I decided to drop the diabetes bomb. I sat him down at the table and explained to him as best as I could – what diabetes is, what I do to take care of myself, the fact that I’ll have it the rest of my life. A few nods of his head and a couple questions later, he was ready to get back to cooking. It seemed like nothing to him.

What I learned later is that when he went home that night, he did research. He learned about the complications I could face and more about what everyday life is like. And then, he didn’t walk away.

He’s been by my side ever since, cheering me on, helping me out of bad lows (while helping himself to glucose tablet ‘candy’), changing my pump sets and soothing my fears. He’s a huge reason I’m in such good control today. He’s knowledgeable, patient and compassionate. He gets more excited about seeing a PWD in the wild than I do sometimes. He has become my biggest supporter and my best friend. He helps me laugh about this disease, and he lets me cry.

So, what seemed like a very scary diabetes moment (telling someone I wanted to be with about my chronic disease) turned into something I could never imagine, and I’m so thankful that I faced my fears.

Now he’s with me just as long as diabetes is. Thank you, husband, for sticking by my side – always.
Marriage License

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

18 responses »

  1. I always get so sad when I hear that people think they’ll never find someone. My husband is AMAZING when it comes to my diabetes, and I too really believe that there is someone out there for everyone. 🙂

    • I agree! It’s one of those dire thoughts that I wish I would have never had to deal with.. but things (of course) turned out wonderfully, and my husband is amazing as well! Lucky for us both 🙂

      I wanted to share so that people who might have had the same thoughts as I did can realize that they have nothing at all to worry about! Thank you for reading 🙂

  2. I think we’ve all been through the “I’ll never find someone” phase because of our diabetes (or even without it, and D just complicates it even more!). I know for sure that I have.

    There is so much in this story that I can relate to, and so much that other people can draw inspiration from. Thanks for telling it.

    • Totally agree, Scott. It definitely makes things just that much more difficult. I hope I can show at least one person that there is someone out there for each of us!

  3. This is exactly how it went down when I told my man (he didn’t do research tho). I am amazed at their support and it is evident in that they came to the Partner’s Program!! So glad to have met you both and love the pic!

  4. Pingback: Spread the Love! | Insulin and Iron

  5. Pingback: “Spread the Love” : D-Blog Week Day 7 - #DBlogWeek - Island in the Net

Leave a Reply

