happy birthday to the coolest diabetic i know.

Standard

I just wanted to take a moment to say happy 22nd birthday to one of the most important people in my life, my little sister. She is the only one who really gets me… as she is also a type 1 diabetic.
lindley oldShe also really likes goats and jeans.
(Please don’t hit me for using this picture. I can’t stop laughing.)

I’m not saying this just to kiss her ass on her birthday – but she is often times the reason I can make it through a tough diabetes day without breaking down. She listens, she cares and she gets it. She’s smart, funny and beautiful – inside and out. She manages her diabetes with finesse, even when the going gets tough. She’s my confidant and is my oldest best friend. We can cry, complain and laugh together, and I always know she’ll be there when I need her – diabetes related or not (fashion, especially). She’s an inspiration to me and so many others.

I’ve said it before, that I’m thankful to have someone so close who can relate to a disease that is so hard to grasp, although if I could take it away from her I would in a minute. Happy birthday to the coolest diabetic I know. Love you, dumb little : )
sls birthday

10 responses »

  1. Love the way the two of you love each other! Happy birthday to Lindley, and happy sister-love day to you, Carlyn!

  2. What a sweet Birthday greeting from one special sister to another…I’m so proud of the way you both of you and love you so much!!!

  3. Ditto on Maw Maw’s remark…You two are very special to me but you two are very special from the inside to the outside…Love my beautiful nieces and the strength you have brought to each other and the rest of those you touch from your hearts…LOVE LOVE LOVE YOU!

  4. I just read this today, I am so behind on “catching-up” on unread e-mails. Nevertheless, I just wanted to say 1. Happy belated birthday to LIndley. 2. I want to say that you are the 2 coolest “diabetics” I know or have ever known. I know it is only a matter of time for me to get it. My mom and all her brothers and sisters had it and now my middle daughter and both brothers, one of which left us at 56 from a heart attack. I know none of us have or will ever handle diabetes the way you and your sister have. I have known you both were so special for many, many years. Keep the faith that one day…………..there will be a cure for diabetes. Love your family!

    • Thank you Ms. Cecil 🙂 I certainly appreciate you checking up on the blog and all of your kind words. I’ll make sure to share with Lindley as well. Take care!

Leave a Reply

