sensationalism!

Standard

I’m participating in the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge (#HAWMC) with WEGO Health during the month of April. I’ll be writing (somewhere around) 30 posts in 30 days based on the prompts they supply. Learn more here. Wish me luck!

Today’s prompt: Sensationalize! Share a ludicrous headline or cure. Do a news search and choose a ridiculous headline or proposed cure about your condition and write what you think about it. Can’t find one? Write your own.

CINNAMON LOWERS BLOOD SUGARS, POSSIBLE CURE FOR DIABETES!

Only, I had beer with cinnamon in it last night, and my blood sugar got high.

The problem with this sensationalized headline is that people think I can use cinnamon instead of insulin. I bolus for a high bg in public and they’re like “But really, why don’t you just eat cinnamon bark?” Because cinnamon isn’t insulin, and I’m a type 1 diabetic.

Does cinnamon work for type 1 or 2 diabetes? I’m not sure. I’ve never tried it, so I can’t speak to it’s effectiveness on a personal level. It might actually work in addition to other regimens for some folks, but at this point in my life, I don’t really care to find out. The problem I have is people thinking that I can use spices, natural remedies and essential oils as a substitute for insulin. That if I just try one of these out, I’ll probably not have ‘the bad kind’ anymore. Like I’m some stubborn adult who just enjoys riding the blood sugar roller coaster all day.

Le sigh. If only this was a choice.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

Leave a Reply

