wordfull wednesday.

Standard

I’m participating in the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge (#HAWMC) with WEGO Health during the month of April. I’ll be writing (somewhere around) 30 posts in 30 days based on the prompts they supply. Learn more here. Wish me luck!

Today’s prompt: Wordless Wednesday. Post a picture that symbolizes your condition and your experiences.
NOTE: I didn’t really follow directions. Below picture is not my symbolization of diabetes, it’s just funny.

I was having a bit of a time trying to figure out what to do for this post. How do I sum up diabetes with one picture? It’s impossible. I thought about a picture of myself, but I’m not much on ‘selfies’ (it’s what the cool kids call pictures you take of yourself, right?)

So I solicited my sister, who also lives with type 1 diabetes. Problem solved, my picture was created.

IMG_0248
A bit crude, yes. But sometimes diabetes is an ass. No, this isn’t the way I would symbolize diabetes. My sister and I certainly don’t focus on the negatives. But some days, this picture fits just fine. Mostly, I just can’t stop laughing.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

