29 days of not getting an acronym correct.

Standard

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge (#HAWMC) during the month of April. I’ll be writing (close to) 30 posts in 30 days based on the prompts they supply. Learn more here. Wish me luck!

Oh em gee. Am I becoming the blogger who only blogs consistently when I am challenging myself to write for 30 days straight? Nope. Cause I’ve already missed at least the first day of the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge, and if it’s anything like my last #writerchallenge (see November 2012), I’ll miss many more. And I’ll struggle with getting the acronym correct every time I write, too.

So, yes! I’m participating in the Wego Health #HAWMC (guess I don’t need to hashtag that in my blog, eh? too bad.) and I’m doing it for a couple of reasons. First, I really enjoyed the challenge last time. Yes, I failed, but that’s okay. I ‘met’ quite a few people while I was doing it, found many fabulous blogs, and felt really connected to the health blogging community — which in turn makes me feel ‘connected’ to my own disease. Second, it pushes me to write more! I struggle with letting life get in the way of sitting down and putting together an interesting and coherent blog post. When I have prompts to chose from, it’s like being able to take the easy way out! I sound so lazy, but really, I hope this can get me back into the swing of blogging more often. Thank you to Katie over at DiabeticAdvocate.com for taking the challenge too, which reminded me that #HAWMC was going on.

Here goes nothin’! Today’s prompt: Introductions. Share links to 3-5 of your old posts (or posts from other Health Activists!) that you think will help the newly diagnosed.

  • First and foremost, EVERYTHING WILL BE OKAY. Things seem crazy now, but you’ll find your new normal in time.  I haven’t done a blog post about this in particular, but I probably should. You can read this post on the positive ways I try to look at diabetes.
  • You’ll keep laughing. My husband is a big factor in this for me without even meaning to be. Here too.
  • Traveling light is a thing of the past.. but you’ll like it that way. The more you pack (diabetes-wise) the better and more secure you will feel.
  • You’ll meet others who are facing the same everyday challenges you are. And you’ll be absolutely floored at how quickly you connect with them.
  • Your support system will mean everything.
  • 3-5 posts? Psh. A sixth, and very important thing to know: You WILL make mistakes. Like this one, or the thousands of other mistakes I haven’t posted about yet: the day I left my insulin pump in the woods, the many times I’ve forgotten to bolus for a meal, the times I’ve bloused too much, the day I had to use another kid’s insulin at high school because I ran out. You get the picture. Shit happens. Diabetes and life goes on.

What advice do you have for someone who has just been diagnosed with diabetes?

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

Leave a Reply

