the rice conundrum.

Standard

I got home today, all ready to decompress and cook up a nice hot meal – relax my brain just a little bit. Only my brand new 10 pound bag of rice wasn’t on the same page. The rice was determined to make my head hurt. Wanted to make by head hurt so bad that I’d start to personify rice. Well played, rice. Well played.

IMG_0231

If you look at the nutrition facts above, the serving size listed is for a 1/4 cup of DRY RICE. There are 35 grams of carbs in dry rice! Unfortunately, my recipe did not call for dry rice. It needed to be cooked. And if you know me, you know that math is not my strong suit (that’s a euphemism). I don’t think I learned how to convert dry food to cooked food in high school algebra. The math I know is insulin:carb ratios, sensitivity factors, target bgs – diabetic math. I’m sure those of you who cook a lot of rice would know that it triples in volume when cooked. I don’t eat much rice (before my 10 lb bag purchase), so don’t judge. I figured there would be much more complicated arithmetic and reasoning involved in this issue.

I NEEDED to know how many carbs would be in the cooked rice. So of course, I googled it.
Here is what I found:

1st suggestion I took the time to read, “Read Pam’s reply again. 1/4 cup of DRY rice, makes 3/4 of COOKED rice. Pam figures it the same as I do, but I count 1 cup cooked at 45 grams. It is the exact same as Pam’s calculation, because 45 grams divided by 4, is 11.25 grams per quarter cup of cooked rice. Pam’s calculation is better math wise, as the .25 is dropped – as it should be. If that calculation had been .50, then it would have gone to the next higher number, ie: 11.50 x 4 = 46 grams. It works the same as when dosing insulin, or figuring any math problem. By the way, brown rice and white rice – are the same as far as carb grams go. The only difference in the two rices, is that brown rice takes longer to cook.”

Probably, that statement makes lots of sense to lots of people. Still wasn’t quite clicking with me. Too many numbers, not enough straightforward words.

2nd suggestion I took the time to read, “Dry rice expands when you add water and cook it. When you cook 1/4 cup of dry rice, you will get 3/4 cup of cooked rice. The carbs are the same, since water doesn’t have carbs. So a cooked serving of 3/4 cup will have 34 carbs, the same as the dry 1/4 cup”

Oh. Of course.
Now I’ve made an adjustment to my brand new bag of rice, just so I won’t have to go through that again.

IMG_0236

Hard to read, but the serving size now says “3/4 cup cooked rice,” because no one eats dry rice.

So, there you go. Maybe we all learned something helpful today, or maybe it was just me.
And BG fared well, so I’ll post my cooked rice recipe soon (more than just cooked rice, obviously)!

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: stuffed bell peppers – a follow up. | life: one unit at a time

  2. Pingback: thigh set. | life: one unit at a time

Leave a Reply

