pumps attract babies.

Standard

There I was, there I was.. working diligently on a sunny Sunday afternoon. A few minutes earlier, I had helped an adorable four year old who calls himself “Santa” and his mother get a couple pairs of ice skates to take a spin on our synthetic ice skating rink. As I monitored the rink (no, this isn’t the core of my full time job, just one of the many random things/programs I run), I noticed Santa skate clumsily by me. As he passed, his neck craned. He wouldn’t stop looking at my pants. Then I realized it wasn’t my pants that intrigued him, it was my insulin pump.

I giggled to myself. I’ve read blogs and talked to diabetic mommies that proclaim their children are always after their pumps like they’re some magical toy. Santa probably hasn’t seen a pump before. That’s when I heard him say, “Mama! She has a pump!”

And they continued to skate. And I got REALLY excited, like I do when I meet other diabetics. And then I got really sad, because I hoped Santa didn’t know what a pump was because he had to tote one around on his tiny little body.

They made another circle around the ice, and Santa addressed me directly. “You have diaBEEtees, just like my Mama!” he exclaimed. “Yes sir, I do,” I told him. His Mama grinned at me, and patted the outline of her pump under her dress.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

5 responses »

    • Thanks, Scott! ‘Santa’ was cracking me up.

      Synthetic Ice is actually plastic — it’s a really dense polymer. We use a silicone enhancer and/or water to make it glide. And you actually wear real ice skates! It’s a bit different to skate on than real ice – you have to work a bit harder, but it’s great for those of us here in the South that don’t skate much 🙂

  1. Pingback: 29 days of not getting an acronym correct. | life: one unit at a time

Leave a Reply

