reconnected.

Standard

National Health Blog Post Month has defeated me. I was really bummed that I didn’t make it through the entire month, but, such is life. I realized at one point that I needed to focus more on getting my daily exercise in after long days at work than writing blog posts. Not that blog posts aren’t necessary for my mental health, but I had to get some sleep in the mix, too. Priorities, I guess? But it’s been 2 weeks since I’ve written. Sheesh.

So I woke this morning as usual. Tested my blood sugar through my squinty eyes. Took my phone off the charger and peeked at what I had missed in the world while I slept. I was shocked, excited and touched that my blog post Where Can I Mail a Postcard to Diabetes? had been chosen for Best of the ‘Betes Blogs for November. As I congratulated myself, I realized that a part of me needed to write again. Not just for myself, but for anyone (ALL THREE OF YOU!!) who might stumble upon my blog.

I’ve noticed recently, as I’ve been a little disconnected from the diabetes online community, that I haven’t been checking my sugars quite as often. I’ll let highs linger for a little longer. Ignore pump sites that might not be fully functioning. SWAG bolus a little more frequently. When I’m reading other blogs or writing my own on a nightly basis, I don’t let myself slack off as much. Because, really, how can I hear about diabetes, diabetes, diabetes, and not pay attention to my own?

And then last night I watched dLife (I am such a dork, but secretly I want to work for them) as I do every Sunday evening, and they were showing a piece on some recent research on diabetes and media (I can’t find video for it yet, might be too soon). It basically concluded that folks who are connected to diabetes websites, forums and other resources (they proved this using an all inclusive website available to research participants) are more likely to have better A1C’s. I absolutely, whole heartedly agree – and I’m proof.

So let me quit my rambling and just give my eternal thanks to whoever nominated me for this month’s Best of the ‘Betes Blogs – it means more than you’ll ever know. And thank you to every other diabetic out there who is moral support to anyone. I’ve realized that in addition to regular exercise and eating right, it really does mean a lot to my health to stay connected to the diabetes online community in some way or another. Priorities, reconsidered.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

7 responses »

  1. Again, to the sweetest , best and very talented writer , I love you, your attitude and acceptance of what you have been dealt with the diabetes, and on top of it all, sharing and caring about others…you have a huge HEART and speak from that my beautiful niece!!!

  2. Pingback: 29 days of not getting an acronym correct. | life: one unit at a time

  3. Pingback: balancing act. | life: one unit at a time

Leave a Reply

