healthcare changes.

Standard

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s National Health Blog Post Month (#NHBPM) during the month of November. I’ll be writing 30 posts in 30 days based on the prompts they supply. Learn more here. Wish me luck!

Today’s prompt: “I want to change THIS about healthcare…” (I’m focusing on this from an insurance perspective.)

I think I’ve said it before, but I’m suprisingly content with my current health insurance company. This hasn’t always been the case though, and I still have my fair share of problems. I can’t even count the number of hours I’ve spent on the phone with healthcare companies (and those related) figuring out bills, getting claims covered, etc. These are just a few of the things I would like to change about healthcare. Can they be done? Maybe. But I’m not a healthcare CEO, and these are just the dreams and wishes of a type 1 here in NC..

Simplify Things
Why do our deductibles, out of pocket maximums, co-pays and premiums have to be so confusing? Those of us using healthcare are not experts on your lingo and methods. It confuses the shit out of me when I’ve met my deductible but still have to pay ridiculous amounts of money for certain items because I haven’t spent my out of pocket maximum. Keep it simple, I’d rather not be prematurely grey.

Don’t Bully Us
Why do you deny claims, then later approve them after I put up a fight? It’s ridiculous. It’s bullying. There are people in this world that don’t realize denied claims can be appealed, and they get screwed out of SO much because they don’t fight for it. Why should we have to fight with you
to get our needs met?

Get Rid Of That Stupid Pre-Existing Conditions Clause
This one is pretty self explanatory. I will never be able to get health insurance without having a job that provides it without paying an arm and a leg. I have high hopes for this, though.
 
Stop Limiting Our Supplies
Why would you limit the number of strips or vials of insulin we can get in a month, just to save a little money now? News flash – you are just going to end up paying just as much or more later. We stay healthier and more motivated if we have the things we need to take care of ourselves. I don’t have enough strips to test whenever I want? Well, guess what – either I’m going to run my numbers a little high (which could mean you’ll be paying for my ER visit with DKA, or my complications later) or run them a little low (which could mean me passing out and needing to go to the hospital. or worse). I am lucky enough that I get the strips that I ask for, and I couldn’t be more thankful. But, I know this isn’t the case for everyone, and it makes me sick.

Leave a Reply

