a meter that also tests for ketones.

Standard

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s National Health Blog Post Month (#NHBPM) during the month of November. I’ll be writing 30 posts in 30 days based on the prompts they supply. Learn more here. Wish me luck!

Today’s prompt: “LOL Post. Write something funny or share something  you found funny…”

Gah, I really can’t be humorous on command..
If you follow me on twitter, you might have seen me tweet a little something about this story. But, with a whopping 40 something followers, you probably didn’t see my tweet 🙂

And, it might not be as funny to you as it was to me that night.

My husband and I were watching D-Life last week when an ad came on for the Nova Max meter that can use blood to test your sugar, or using a whole different strip, it can use blood to check for ketones. But it wasn’t advertised this specifically, just “Glucose and Ketone testing in the same meter!”

I’ve never used anything but pee to test for ketones, so husband has never heard of anything but pee on a stick ketone strips.

The commercial was winding down, and I’m just thinking “Woo hoo, another meter,” when husband yells “OH MY GOD that is REALLY GROSS.”

I’m looking at him like.. dude.. you’ve probably seen me test my blood a billion times, not to mention stick myself with needles, and get nasty rashes/blood spurts too. Why is a meter grossing you out??

And then it hits me. He’s thinking that someone has manufactured a meter that you can a.) test your blood on, and then b.) pee on to test your ketones. I can’t get the imagery out of my head. He is so freakin’ hilarious.

One response »

  1. Pingback: 29 days of not getting an acronym correct. | life: one unit at a time

Leave a Reply

