to be mindful, to be aware.

Standard

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s National Health Blog Post Month (#NHBPM) during the month of November. I’ll be writing 30 posts in 30 days based on the prompts they supply. Learn more here. Wish me luck!

Today’s prompt: “Be mindful. Write about what helps you stay centered in the present…” (editors note: I strayed from the prompt just a bit.)

As a person with Type 1 Diabetes, it is SO important to be mindful.. to be present in the current moment. No need to constantly dwell on the past or the future. I know there are times where I need to think about why my blood sugar was the way it was, or what it might be after I eat dinner, but I need learn to focus a little more on the present. Otherwise, I’m going to drive myself crazy. It’s not helpful for my state of mind to only focus on what my sugars have been, or what they might be in two hours after I’ve already taken my meal bolus. What I need to spend my energy on is the here and now, and what to do about my state of health at this current point in time – no matter what I’m feeling at the current time – confusion, happiness, sadness, etc. The important thing is that I am aware.

I don’t really have too much to say about being mindful, as it’s something that I don’t practice enough. Maybe a few quotes will help?

“Without mindful awareness, the shadows of your past may haunt your present.” – Reuben Lowe

“Look not mournfully into the past, it comes not back again. Wisely improve the present, it is thine. Go forth to meet the shadowy future without fear and with a manly heart.” – Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (editors note: a womanly heart will work just fine, if not better, for meeting shadowy futures.)

“Life is a great and wondrous mystery, and the only thing we know that we have for sure is what is right here and right now. Don’t miss it.” – Leo Buscgalia

“It’s being here now that’s important. There’s no past and there’s no future. Time is a very misleading thing. All there is ever, is the now. We can gain experience from the past, but we can’t relive it; and we can hope for the future, but we don’t know if there is one.” – George Harrison

And my favorite, so far, as pertaining to diabetes:

“Live your life each day as you would climb a mountain. An occasional glance towards the summit keeps the goal in mind, but many beautiful scenes are to be observed from each new vantage point.” – Harold B. Melchart

Leave a Reply

