what’s in my bag.

Standard

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s National Health Blog Post Month (#NHBPM) during the month of November. I’ll be writing 30 posts in 30 days based on the prompts they supply. Learn more here. Wish me luck!

Today’s prompt: “Write about what’s in your bag/purse/backpack every day…”

Since I was 10 years old, I have carried a purse. I was the only one of my friends to do so back then. I think that over the years, my purse has gotten bigger. Somehow, though.. I still don’t always have everything with me that I need to take care of my disease. Today, this is what’s in my bag:


-This is scary.
-My wallet
-My VerioIQ Meter
-A book that was given to me by a friend to read tonight
-A beer coozie that was given to me at a workshop three weeks ago
-Ibuprofen (not acetaminophen, because my Dexcom hates that)
-Glucose tabs
-Trash, gum wrappers, more trash
-Shooter (for mah pump sets)
-Cap for a Bells Two Hearted Ale, which is by far the best beer in the entire world. Try it.
-My bag of diabetes extras (the one that’s not boring).
-My Dexcom. Poor thing, he was just restarted today and I’ve been ignoring him since.
-Random piece of Tegaderm. Just in case. Stuff is crucial.


This is my ‘extras bag’… just in case. Includes:

-Skin Tac
-2 bottles of Novolog
– A penny for pump battery changes
-Ketostix
-Syringes in case of a pump fail
-A new pump set and resovoir in case I need to change my set

EXTRAS BAG:MISSING (REWARD)…
-VerioIQ Test Strips (Who were forgotten last night. Thank you to my sister who loaned me a meter and test strips. Pays to have family with T1).
-AAA Battery for pump (what’s the point of a penny without a battery?)

Sometimes it’s more, sometimes it’s less. I can say, though, I will never carry a tiny purse.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

One response »

  1. Pingback: traveling with diabetes. « life: one unit at a time

Leave a Reply

