i do not know much.

Standard

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s National Health Blog Post Month (#NHBPM) during the month of November. I’ll be writing 30 posts in 30 days based on the prompts they supply. Learn more here. Wish me luck!

Today’s prompt: “I don’t know about this, but I’d like to…”

I don’t know too much about symlin. Which is why you should take nothing from this website or from this post as medical advice. I’m not a doctor. If you want to make changes to your health care plan, contact your doctor. I am also not endorsing symlin, I’m just interested.

The first time I went to my new endocronologist (about a year ago) was one of the first times I had heard about the drug. She was intersted in introducing me to symlin to help battle post-meal highs. According to their website:

“SYMLIN is a noninsulin diabetes medicine that helps people with diabetes control their blood sugar levels by replacing a hormone called amylin.”

People with diabetes aren’t only not producing insulin, but we also don’t produce (or produce very little) amylin. Again, from the Symlin website:

“Amylin is a hormone that partners with insulin to help control blood sugar levels. Just as people with diabetes make little or no insulin, they also make little or no amylin. Without enough amylin and insulin, your blood sugar levels can go too high after meals. This is because:

  • Amylin helps control how much sugar gets into your blood and how quickly it gets there
  • Insulin controls how much sugar gets out of your blood and into the muscles and tissues in your body”

I’m intrigued. I’ve met people who take Symlin (or a similar drug, I can’t remember what it’s called) and really like it. I’ve met people who hate it. I’ve heard that it causes some nausea in the beginning and I’ve heard that it can cause some pretty stubborn lows.

For almost 15 years, I’ve been managing my diabetes without symlin. Is it something that will really make that much a difference in my overall control? Or would it be one more thing to remember, one more thing to take care of, and one more prescription to buy?

Either way, it’s something I don’t know much about, but I’d like to. Have any of you tried Symlin (or something similar)? Are you still taking it? Pros? Cons? I’d love to hear from you!

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

2 responses »

  1. I heard about Amylin and Symlin quite recently (after over 3 decades with T1D!) and was also a bit intrigued. I don’t see myself asking my doctor about it, right now I’m looking for insulin and food to work as fast as possible. If there were a “time element” introduced with Symlin, could you imagine how complex that balancing act would be? As if balancing insulin with food weren’t hard enough. (And if you have a hypo with Symlin on-board, then what do you do?) Maybe there’s a way to do it, and if my endo advises me to give it a try, then maybe I will. But for now, I’ll just sit back and watch how others deal with it.

    • Yep, the lows and the complexity of it is what holds me back. I think I could deal with a little nausea until my body got used to it. I might ask about it next week when I go to my endo. It might be worth it to try it out, just in case it’s my new miracle blood sugar worker. Unfortunately, I doubt it 😦

      I saw your tweets about getting through Sandy, hope all is still okay!

Leave a Reply

