a long list of weird.

Standard

I’m participating in WEGO Health’s National Health Blog Post Month (#NHBPM) during the month of November. I’ll be writing 30 posts in 30 days based on the prompts they supply. Learn more here. Wish me luck!

Today’s prompt: “Write about the weirdest thing about your health…”

Let’s be honest. There are TONS of weird things about diabetes. Like, for instance, the fact that I have type 1 diabetes at all. That’s weird. I have it, my sister has it – but our two brothers do not. Neither does anyone else in our family. Weird.

Or, it’s weird that one day I can bolus 2.5 units for a sandwich and go about the rest of my day with perfect blood sugars. Then, the next day, I do the same thing and it launches my sugars sky high like a freakin’ rocket for 6 hours straight. Weird (that analogy was weird too, I know).

Sometimes I get a kink in my cannula, sometimes I don’t. Weird.

Sometimes said kinky cannula (ha. ha. ha. sorry about that.) doesn’t even make my sugars high. Weird.

Sometimes, my Dexcom communicates with my transmitter from waaaay more than 5 feet away. Especially if I’m low. It’s like he’s trying to be extra sensitive when he knows I’m in dangerous territory. Weird.

Speaking of low, it’s weird how sometimes when I’m low, I seem more like I’m drunk. I’ll call it drunklow. When I’m drunklow, husband has to force me to drink my apple juice, and I laugh at him like he’s a clown and I’m a six year old girl. Drunklow is fun, until I get sleepylow or bitchylow or so low I don’t know what I’m saying or doing. Weird.

Sometimes I find test strips in weird places. Like my shoe that I’ve been wearing all day at work. Or on my husbands back after he wakes up. Weird.

It’s weird that this disease can be doing terribly destructive things to my body without me even realizing it. Weird, and unbelievably scary.

3 responses »

    • Right after I posted that, I looked down at my keyboard and found another test strip. Sigh, they are absolutely everywhere. Haha, yep, on his back. He tested my blood sugar after a low a few times last night, and all he gets its a lousy used test strip. Makes life more interesting, I guess!?

  1. Pingback: Share & Don’t Share – #DBlog Week, Day 1 | life: one unit at a time

Leave a Reply

