not so frustrating instances.

Standard

I’m am beyond tired as I write this, so my apologies if it’s not very eloquent.

Last Thursday, I was having a casual conversation with someone I work with. We will call him J for the purposes of this blog post. This guy knows I have diabetes, but has never asked too many questions. I think he has a basic idea of the disease (as in diet limitations, I have something connected to me via tube, etc.). During our conversation, I realized that among the reshuffling of my purse to accommodate work conditions that morning, I had forgotten to return my glucose tabs to their normal spot (in my purse). They were in my car, and I was driving a work vehicle. Dammit.  I  confided in J, letting him know my situation. I was hovering around 100, and felt like the diabetes-gods would make me crash if I didn’t get my hands on something sweet. I asked J if he had any extra sodas on hand (I work in recreation, he was running a concession stand where we get comp drinks) and he quickly fetched me one. I felt like an idiot, but he didn’t act like anything phased him at all (at least, after I convinced him that no, I was not going to pass out).

Later that night, I’m hanging out with my husband at home, filling him in on aaaalll of the diabetes drama I had encountered that day (highlight of his day, I’m sure). We’re about to eat dinner, and I go searching for my Dexcom in my purse. It’s. Not. There. My stomach sank. I was tired enough of diabetes for one day, did I really have to deal with losing a ridiculously expensive d-tool? Immediately, I’m in tears. I remembered that J was still at work, pretty close to the location where we had been chatting, and pretty close to the work vehicle my Dexcom *might* have gotten lost in. I called and begged him to look for it, and probably sounded pretty upset about the situation (as in he could probably hear my tears through the phone. ugh.).  He began his search as I continued mine, and luckily, my car seat had eaten the Dexcom and I was able to retrieve it.

Which brings me to today. J was helping me divvy up 7,000 pieces of candy for the Halloween Carnival that I am responsible for this week.

Exhibit A

During said ‘divvying’ he got REALLY excited about the Laffy Taffy I had purchased, and exclaimed “This is my FAVORITE candy! I’m eating some now, AND I’m taking some home!” (quote not guaranteed to be verbatim). He looked at me and asked “So, what’s your favorite candy?” But, he sort of stopped mid-sentence. Then he sort of stumbled over the questions “Are diabetics allowed to have candy?”

He gave me this look like, “Eff, I know that didn’t sound right, but I really want to know.” So I explained. I told him that I’m absolutely allowed to have candy, but I choose to make smart decisions about when I do or don’t. I informed him a little about what my pancreas doesn’t do, and what I have to do in it’s place. Even though he had been with me through 2 diabetes “emergencies” recently, I don’t think he really understood much about the disease. After I finished explaining some things to him and answering a few questions, he said “Okay then! So what IS your favorite candy?”

Before our conversation, J didn’t know much about T1 except what he had generalized about diabetes in general. But, he wasn’t afraid to ask, and he wasn’t afraid to listen.

Twix is my favorite candy, by the way.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

One response »

  1. Good answer! It’s great to have the opportunity to explain to teach to someone who really is interested in learning, and who recognizes how much (or how little) he really knows about D.

    Good choice too! I give Twix a slight edge over Kit-Kat. Just for those rare indulgent moments, though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

