this is christmas.

Standard

To a diabetic nerd (like me) this is like Christmas!

Last time I was talking with my CDE in her office, I noticed a nice supply of brand spankin’ new VerioIQ meters sitting on her bookshelf. I freaked out like it was a celebrity sighting (OK, I’m not really even into celebrities. Like it was a free bacon store?) and told her how much I’d heard about the new meter. She wasn’t even half as excited as me (that’s when I knew she wasn’t a t1 or a bacon lover), and told me that she had just gotten them in and hadn’t really heard much feedback.

*Shifty eyes*

“…I’ll.. try it out.. for you.. if you really need an opinion… I mean, no big deal.”

She handed me one of the boxes and 20 strips. I felt like I had won the diabetes lottery just saved myself $70 because even though I knew I had about 12,000 unemployed meters in my diabetes drawer, I’d eventually succumb to buying one of these fancy pants ones anyways. I don’t think I’ve gotten a new meter in like 4 years.

So, two months later, I’ve finally remembered to change my Edgepark automatic order from OneTouch Ultra strips to these gold little forks. I got them this afternoon, and it feels like I’m testing my sugar with an iPod (oh wait, PEOPLE DO THAT).


Isn’t she a beauty?
This post it pointless. I’ll let you know what I think of the new meter. You let me know if you already have an opinion about it.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

Leave a Reply

