eggplant & goat cheese ‘lasagna.’

Standard

A while ago in this post, I talked about how I wanted to focus  on eating healthier, lower carb meals. So far, so good! Husband and I have been trying out new recipes thanks to MeeMaw & Pops (my Mom and Dad), AllRecipes.com and PoorGirlEatsWell.com. Just a few of my faves.

While I was making our last grocery list (I normally try to shop for two weeks at a time – once per pay period – although I’m promising to start hitting up the Durham Farmer’s Market on Saturdays and Wednesdays!) Husband requested some type of lasagna. I say ‘some type,’ but I really think he wanted regular ol’ lasagna. My blood sugars cringed. When I was little, red sauce always made my sugars shoot through the roof. So tackling red sauce AND pasta seemed a bit contradictory to my new low-carb lifestyle (now Cake’s ‘Rock and Roll Lifestyle’ is in my head).

I searched the interwebs to find something to satisfy both his stomach and my diabetes. Here’s what won out:

Eggplant & Goat Cheese Lasagna
1 large eggplant (sliced, 1/4 inch rounds)
11 oz goat cheese
1 jar of garden veggie pasta sauce

And that’s it. Basically, all you do is:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Put a layer of sliced eggplant in the bottom of a greased 9×13 glass baking dish.
  • Then layer about 1/3 of the pasta sauce.
  • Then crumble 1/3 of the goat cheese over it.
  • Repeat layers until you run out of ingredients (I also added garlic)!
  • The recipe doesn’t say to, but I did sweat my eggplant (ha, sounds like I had a crush on it) before I layered it.
  • I also didn’t use a full 11 oz of goat cheese, because I’m cheap and I wanted to use it for another recipe, too. And it still tasted fabulous.
  • After you assemble your dish, bake at 350 degrees for about an hour (until it’s bubbling).
  • If my directions are too rambling and confusing, please, see the link above.. 


It’s a seriously simple meal that tasted delicious. I really dig eggplant, because it’s pretty filling, but also pretty low carb (26.1 grams for a whole 1-1/4 lb. eggplant), has a low-glycemic index, and is high in fiber if left unpeeled (18.6 grams per 1-1/4 lbs), according to this site.  Nothing fancy, but husband and I were both satisfied. Pretty cheap, too. We both had a nice sized helping and were able to have it for lunch the next day, too. I paired it with a salad, and that was that.

Before dinner, my sugar was 140 mg/dl. I took a correction of 0.8u and bolused for 18 grams of carbs (probably had about a cup worth of eggplant). I had craisins and a higher-carb dressing in my salad, which accounted for about 12 or so grams of carb, the rest was my best guess for the eggplant. About two and a half hours later, I was 104 mg/dl, with no spikes on the Dexcom (or Seegum, for CGM, as I call it). Next time, I’ll try to avoid so much of the scientific wild ass guessing (aka SWAG bolusing). I’ll also try to remember to take a picture.

Your diabetes may vary, though. If you try this recipe – let me know what you thought, and what it did to your post-prandial!

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

One response »

Leave a Reply

