one lonely strip.

Standard
image

oops.

Does this ever happen to you? One lonely strip? I have to admit, it’s happened to me more than once. Which is why I started to carry a back-up pouch filled with: an extra bottle of strips, insulin, ketostix, a pump set, an alcohol swab, a skin-tac wipe, tegaderm, a battery, a penny (for battery changes)  and a needle. But, the back-up pouch is only useful if I remember to fill it after I drain the supplies. It currently only holds a needle, ketostix, and a penny. And my meter case currently only holds one strip. Shit.

I work until 7:30 tonight, so superhero diabetes-helper magical husband is bringing me a bottle of strips. Sometimes he just sparkles 🙂

It makes me feel SO irresponsible when I do this. I try not to let my co-workers find out that I’ve forgotten something that’s so crucial to my diabetes management, but I live a half hour away from my job.. so it’s hard to just sneak out and grab a new bottle. So now, with husband coming to save the day – I will try to convince myself that this is nothing but another bump in the road. As my mom would say – “This too shall pass.” And it shall. And now, I will forgive myself (and start to refill my back-up pouch when necessary).

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

3 responses »

  1. Oh man, I hate when that happens! And I’m always mad at myself for forgetting about it. It’s like a countdown of reminders when I start noticing the bottle getting empty. Each test I say to myself “don’t forget to grab more strips”, “don’t forget to grab more strips”.

    Yay for your hubby coming to the rescue!

    • It’s sooo hard not get down on myself when I have a forgetful day. One step at a time, I guess?! What’s most embarrassing is having to admit to a non PWD that I’ve forgotten something so crucial to my health, then feeling judged. Bleh!

  2. Pingback: 29 days of not getting an acronym correct. | life: one unit at a time

Leave a Reply

