Namaste, Diabetes.

Standard

at peace

Namaste is a combination of sanskrit words that translate to “I bow to you,” or in a deeper and more spiritual sense “The light in me honors the light in you.”

Freakin’ Namaste, diabetes! Sometimes, it’s so hard to be positive about this damn disease. Seriously, why would I ever want to bow  to something that causes me to put holes in my body 10x a day? But I try to keep my chin up and look at the bright side of life. When leaving my yoga class last week, I was challenged to seek out the light in diabetes. It is a huge part of my life, after all. The more I can reflect on the good, the better my overall outlook.

  • I am responsible. Absolutely a direct result of having to think about things like fingersticks and insulin at such a young age. Indirect results include paying bills on time and keeping up at work.
  • I am in tune with the foods that I put in my body (okay, not ALWAYS, but still..).
  • I realize the true benefits of exercise. I can SEE that 20 minutes on the elliptical brings my blood sugar down. Talk about instant gratification!
  • It has brought my sister and I closer than we might have ever been (she is a T1 as well). Not that we wouldn’t have been close if not for diabetes, but there is an indescribable connection between us that I will always, always, always cherish. I love you Lindley!
  • Through classes, camp and conferences – I have met some amazingly strong people!
  • I feel like I’ve found ‘my passion’ in life — diabetes education and advocacy. I haven’t figured out how to make it my career, but at least it’s recognized… and that’s peaceful.
  • I appreciate life in a different way than someone without a chronic illness might be able to.
  • It brings husband and I closer together. We don’t make this the focus of our relationship, but – diabetes control is his goal and mine. He likes to help me achieve that.
  • I have a job! I don’t have a job because of diabetes.. but I’m sure as hell encouraged (that’s a euphemism) to always have one so that I can always have insulin!
  • I’m very aware of my body. This can be bad when I over obsess about a stomach ache, but it can also be a great thing. I like to know what’s going on with me.

What are the positives that diabetes has brought to your life?

Namaste!

Carlyn

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: 29 days of not getting an acronym correct. | life: one unit at a time

Leave a Reply

