Copious amounts of Hypos

Image

I think my back (see: love handles) absorbs insulin like a freakin’ sponge. Or, I’m cured. I’d believe I was cured, except for the fact that among my lows, I haven’t shaken those nasty highs..

low bg reading

yes, I have an omnipod & still have to use this meter.. thanks insurance!

For the past two weeks or so, I’ve been hitting 45 mg/dl without even really noticing. Which is really weird for me, I’ve never really experienced hypo unawareness.

I really can’t tell if it’s truly that my new pod sites are excited to be getting some of that sweet, sweet insulin drip.. or if maybe I’m just paying waaay more attention to what I’m doing. I did just get all this new technology (dexcom & omnipod) to reinvigorate my D-routine.

Husband has been a joy at helping me out. I’ve had a couple episodes in the middle of the night that I don’t really remember, and he’s always running to the fridge to get me AJ. He even deals with me when I’m really angry or really goofy during lows in the daytime. Seriously a keeper!

I think I had sort of forgotten how scary lows can get, since I haven’t had any fainting/seizure episodes in years. During my research over the past couple of days, I was also lovingly reminded of the fact that night hypos could really end in us not waking up in the morning. Luckily, Dexter the Dexcom wakes me up, and so does husband. But still, it’s REALLY not a pleasant thought.

Plan of action: more evaluating. I’ve been setting temp basals at night. Like, a lot of them. Sometimes I go crazy high because I waaay over-correct a scary low and then set a temp, but.. such is life. I know I’m way past due for basal checks too. Maybe my levels are off. Who actually eats dinner at 5pm though?

Husband pointed out today that he thinks its my insulin: carb ratio. Guess we need to assess that too. Soooo many elements consider. But damn, he’s getting good at this, huh?

Leave a Reply

