Decision-Making is not my Strong Suit.

Standard

I have been attached at the hip to an insulin pump for almost 14 years now. The tubing seems like a part of me; wearing it and sleeping with it have become almost second nature (maybe because I just throw it on my husband’s side of the bed..).

I’ve never really thought about switching pumps. My Minimed Pump and I have had a wonderfully chaotic relationship for years. It was scary to think about something new. Until last month, when I met an OmniPod rep at the DiabetesSisters Weekend for Women Conference. Oh how the lack of tubing intrigued me! To be able to pull my pants down without dropping my pump in the toilet sounded like a dream!

So I started researching. And spending hours on the phone with my insurance company. And a few weeks later.. the OmniPod is on it’s way to my doorstep. Then, I freaked. WHAT IF I MADE THE WRONG DECISION? I was losing sleep over it. My pants sort of missed that tubing..

I broke down yesterday and called the Animas rep. I wanted to make sure I had made the right switch. A new pump for me is like buying a new car, or a house, or adopting a wild hound dog. Important stuff.

Husband and I met with the Animas guru today (not a PWD though, not sure how spot on that guru title is). And although the pump had some great features, I was reminded that I really need to learn to trust myself more. This might not be the right decision for everyone, but it is for me.

For at least the next four years, I believe I’ll be wearing pods, not tubes 🙂

Image

Happy day!

Carlyn.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Told You So. « life: one unit at a time

Leave a Reply

