38.

Standard

I wake up and my husband is leaning over my legs. He has a giant needle in his hand and the sharp tip is pushing against my thigh, almost breaking the skin.

“NO!” I scream.

This wasn’t a nightmare. This was my reality last night.

image

He said I woke up because I was annoyed that I was sleeping in a pool of my own sweat. He asked me if I  had checked my blood sugar and I told him yes, a blatant lie. He asked me what it was. I didn’t know. This is when he took over.

He checked my blood sugar, I was 38. I was just thinking the other day how wonderful it was that I hadn’t seen a number in the 20’s or 30’s in quite a while. Streak ruined.

He said I was confused, and I was twitching.. like I do right before I go into a seizure. I wasn’t making sense. I guess I was also taking a stance against drinking my juice, too. I do sometimes get combative when I’m low, when I’m not giddy like a drunk. When he saw the twitching is probably when he grabbed the glucagon. When he tried to inject it is when I finally became vaguely aware of what was going on.

All in all, I drank three glasses of Simply Apple apple juice, each worth about 25 grams of carbs. I came up very, very slowly. 48 mg/dl 6 minutes later, 57 mg/dl 15 minutes later, 83 mg/dl 30 minutes later. Around two hours into the ordeal, I was finally at 117. Before I hit normal range, though, I gladly consumed a peanut butter bar, an ice cream sandwich (I needed something to cool my sweaty body), and a few kale and black bean tortilla chips (I have an obsession with tortilla chips when I’m low, which normally results in being high).

7:32am: 348 mg/dl. I took two units over a half hour once I got back in the 80’s. After everything I consumed, though, of course I got high. I had the low munchies. It’s unarguably a condition.

My point in all this? To get it off my chest. Today I’m scared. I’m tired (and continuing to get more tired). I’m emotional.. because lows like this always come full of guilt for me. Guilt that I had a brush with not waking up. Guilt that this happened at all. Guilt that John had to go through this and carry me through the night.

The guilt will subside and I will catch back up on sleep. I need to be thankful that John was there to help me (with zero complaints, ever, about anything, by the way. He’s amazing.), and was able to quickly mix up the glucagon, just in case.
Also, this shall serve as a reminder to get a new glucagon kit, stat.

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

8 responses »

  1. Strange how ironic it is that we sat at the bar almost a year ago joking about the glucagon app. It looks like it came in handy though.
    I know it is hard not to feel guilty. And telling you not to is like the pot calling the kettle black. Just know that I’m sending you lots of virtual hugs and sending prayers too.

    • Absolutely did. Even if he didn’t have to use it, was still there, ready to go, just in case. I think we all need to go back to the bar again :)
      Thank you for your sweet thoughts, Sarah!

  2. Thank you for writing this. I always have guilt and refuse to drink my juice when my wife tries to get me to. The guilt fades but it sucks when it is there. I am happy you had a low with your husband and thankfully not at work or anything like that. Nothing like having legal at your desk because you are trying to argue with them that you are fine when everyone around you knows you are not. TD1 SUCKS.

    • The guilt is the worst part. Sometimes all consuming. Grr. T1 does suck.

      Sounds like you may speak from experience, with legal at your desk and what not? I’m sorry :( Luckily, I have only one other guy at my office building, and I’ve tried to train him pretty well, and he reacts quickly if I need him to (like the time I forgot to eat my breakfast after a pre-bolus). Regardless, lows really suck when you’re in a crowded space or without someone close to you.

      Our spouses are pretty amazing, aren’t they?

  3. Oh Honey! So sorry for your ordeal, scare, lows , but thank God That John was alert to it all… Love you both bunches!!! Stay safe ;)

  4. I am very familiar to that fear of not waking up. I live with a roommate, and found myself sitting at the kitchen table at about 2:00 am with a Pepsi in one hand, and the other repeatedly spooning fork-fulls of chocolate cake into my mouth. When I was coherent enough I tested at 31. Glad you’re ok!

Leave a Reply

