balancing act.

Standard

I’m going to be honest here. I’m not intending to complain or make diabetes sound like the worst thing in the entire world. But the truth is, I’ve been struggling.

Bottom line: sometimes I feel like it’s hard to strike a balance between taking care of my diabetes and taking care of the rest of my life’s obligations.

There are times where I just can’t seem the find the time to test my blood sugar, pre-bolus, eat a decent meal, correct, keep an eye on my dexcom, try to avoid getting low, blog, keep up with other blogs, attend diabetes-related events AND work, exercise, spend time with my husband, keep up with my house, walk my dog, pay my bills, have a social life.. You get the picture — and that’s not even the half of it. I know that I’m not the busiest person on this planet, and sometimes I can handle my load with ease. But most of the time, I feel like the more I focus on diabetes, the less I pay attention to the ‘normal life things,’ and vice-versa. Sometimes when I’m really involved with taking care of my diabetes, I feel like I eat/breathe/sleep blood sugars and insulin. Then, when I take a step back and try to focus on real life, I start to pretend I don’t even have diabetes.

I called my sister (also t1) this morning to complain, so we’re doing some things to help us both out.

  • We just downloaded the MySugr app. I’m not too familiar with it yet, but I think it will help hold me accountable and keep me organized. I have friends that say amazing things about this app, so I’m excited.
  • My sister and I plan on checking in weekly or bi-weekly to talk about things – life in general or diabetes. Whatever is on our minds. We talk daily in one form or another regardless, but I think having MySugr to reflect on will keep us both motivated.
  • I’m making time for the DOC and real life d-friends. I’m not going to let it stress me out — but it’s like medicine for me. The more in tune I am with the DOC, the more in tune I am with my diabetes.

Does anyone else feel like this? Even if you don’t have diabetes! What do you do to maintain that balance?

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

9 responses »

  1. I feel like this a lot. Trying to balance the world on my shoulders. It’s not fun. I really do hope you are able to find peace/a routine that works for you. I wish I could give you advice but I’m still learning as I go along. Sending hugs and love.

  2. I fully agree and have felt this way several times. I also don’t see this as a rant or any form of complaining. I see it as you expressing something we all feel all the time. Having diabetes is like having a full time job that doesn’t pay. Because it doesn’t pay, we have to work and go to school. We have to have a whole second life in addition to a ‘normal’ life. That’s why we are all superheroes, though. We all do it everyday. It’s crazy, reading the list you wrote out. We all really do that daily. Nuts.

    It’s so cool that you and your sister can bond over this, and that someone so immediate to you can understand.

    I hope you like the mysugr app. If you hit any road blocks, reach out to Scott Johnson. I am sure he’d be willing to help out there. :-)

    Cheers to you for sharing this.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Heather. I hate to sound like I’m complaining – but you’re right, this is simply reality.

      It is nice to have my sister to relate to, although I’d take it away from her in a skinny minute if I could!!

      I’ll definitely contact Scott if I have questions. So far so good! Now the biggest obstacle.. I just need to keep my phone charged..

  3. It is really hard for me to keep up with the DOC lately, and then I feel bad about it, and then I keep up less . . . and it’s a terrible cycle. And the diabetes management is another story all together. I feel you.

    • Ohhh the cycle! I’ve been hiding my face in shame lately every time I see a diabetes related post/story. I think we all need a beer and to pat ourselves on the back for the amount of time we have it together (whether we feel like it our not!)

  4. My philosophy: give T1D just enough attention to keep it from hijacking your life, but not so much that it becomes your life. When I added kids to the equation, it both complicated and simplified my life in ways that would take many paragraphs to explain. They are the priority, but in order to make them the priority, I also have to be the priority. That’s a lot for this Libra T1D to balance.

Leave a Reply

