low? pillow? mellow?

Standard

Out of all of the tools in my diabetes-tool arsenal, my favorite has got to be.. my husband. Not just because he’s cute, but because of all of the things he does for my diabetes care (all of which I’m sure will be outlined in a blog post.. one day :))

Sometimes, he cracks me up though. See, last night, we decided to have a relaxing evening at home doing pretty much nothing. We drank a few beers and hung out in our lounge (a.k.a. the guest bedroom/office/room without a TV/room with a computer). A few days ago, our eldest wild hound swatted the laptop to the ground, and it’s pretty much a paperweight now – so if we want to be online, we can use 1. our phones, 2. my kindle fire, or 3. our desktop in the lounge.

Because my husband is a huge airplane nerd, I was a good wife and let him use the desktop to play his airplane game, while I cuddled on the futon with the hounds and browsed the interwebs on the kindle. BUT, also because I let him use the desktop, it meant he was the token one to fetch beers and whatnot. At one point, my neck started to hurt and I said “Next time you get up, can you grab my pillow?” <<I forgot to mention that while he’s playing said airplane game, he wears headphones (half on his ears, half off.. so he can still hear me) and talks to people about missions they are on.>> When I asked for my pillow, I guess through his headphones he heard “I’m low.” He jumped up like something had just bitten him on the ass. The headphones hit the floor, the dogs were startled, and he was almost out of the room before I could stop laughing and tell him I wasn’t low, I just wanted a pillow.

A little while later, I sat there, amazed at the pure beauty of our lab/hound mix. So I said “Aw, look at Mellow,” not realizing that again, I just said something that rhymes with ‘low’. He jumped up, same as the first time. I laughed, same as the first time. Ahh, he’s always on stand-by, and I love him for that.

husband "YOU'RE LOW"??

And this photographic gem, my friends, is husband’s best re-enactment of the above story. It still made me laugh, a lot.. but he wouldn’t put his headphones on for it :(

About Carlyn

I am a friend, wife, daughter, sister, dog-mother and self-proclaimed 'blogger' who was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 1997 at the age of 10. I live in Durham, North Carolina with my husband and two (wild) hound dogs. We make the best of life by trying our hardest to take one day at a time, one unit at a time. You can contact me via e-mail at oneunitatatime@gmail.com!

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: October’s Best of the ‘Betes Blogs : DiabetesMine: the all things diabetes blog

  2. I love your outlook on life and especially the respect you have for your situation and the lovely husband that john is….such a cute story and congratulation for the award!!

  3. Pingback: 29 days of not getting an acronym correct. | life: one unit at a time

Leave a Reply

